My Travel Bucket List

I’ve only been home five days, and since I don’t have any upcoming travel scheduled (for a month anyway), it seems appropriate I would dream a little! Over the past couple years, I’ve slowly been accumulating a list of experiences and places I’d like to do and visit. This started before my epic year of travel, when I not only struck a few off but I added some I never anticipated!

So here it is, my bucket list as of February 2016. What’s on your bucket list? I’d love to read about your experiences and get your suggestions if you’ve visited any of the below!

Exploring Canada

  • Drive a dogsled DONE: Lac St-Jean, Qc, 2014
  • Kayak in the Yukon
  • Go to a First Nations Pow Wow
  • Any and all of Newfoundland
  • Snowmobile in the Gaspe
  • Ride horses in the Rockies DONE: Banff, 2012
  • Ride in a float plane DONE: Vancouver, 2015
  • Stay in the Ice Hotel DONE: Winter 2008 with Quinn
  • Skate on the Rideau Canal, Ottawa
  • Buy lobster direct from an Atlantic fisherman
  • Walk among the big rocks in the Bay of Fundy, New Brunswick
  • Drive the Cabot Trail, Nova Scotia

Over the Border – United States

  • Throw fish at the Seattle Fish Market
  • Frankenmuth, Michigan
  • Surf (anywhere)
  • Alaska
  • Deep-sea fish off a southern coast
  • Nashville
  • Attend an NFL football game DONE: Eagles vs Giants, Fall 2015
  • Visit the Grand Canyon DONE: April 2014 with Quinn
  • Four-wheelin in California sand dunes DONE: Winter 2005
  • See an active volcano DONE: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Fall 2015
  • California wine tour with friends (I did it once by myself, which was also fun but not quite the same)
  • NFR, Vegas

Around The World

  • Cambodia and Vietnam
  • Walk on the Great Wall of China DONE: November 2014
  • Learn to make sushi in Japan
  • Cape Town, Robbin Island and the Garden Trail, South Africa
  • Monaghan County, Ireland
  • Den Haag, Holland
  • Learn to make cheese
  • Return to India, (first visited in January 2014)
  • Travel through Eastern Europe
  • Visit Australia and New Zealand
  • Wine tour in Tuscany
  • Ride a camel in the desert DONE: April 2015
  • Sandboard in the desert DONE: April 2015
  • Sub-Saharan Africa – Ghana or Uganda
  • Hike up a big mountain
5 thoughts on “My Travel Bucket List

    1. Your northern road trips look like they’ve been downright amazing. I already had the Yukon on my bucket list, but your your post about canoeing under the midnight sun and Alaska definitely makes me want to go even more. I had no idea how much of Alaska was south of the Yukon. I guess I need to pay closer attention to a map! Looks like a great trip – did you camp along the way?

  1. Love it! I need to do this! 06 girls in California perhaps? I think so! Top of my list is Scandinavia but it keeps getting pushed back as I want to have the time to do it right. I should just make it a priority! Make sure to add some snowboard destinations to that list!

    1. I always thought it would be wicked to snowboard in Transylvania. I think I saw it in a Snowboard Canada magazine somewhere? I learned to snowboard in the Alps. Going back would be stellar. Or maybe to the mountains in the U.S. somewhere? See how they compare to our Rockies maybe?! Scandinavia would be a beautiful trip. How long would you want to go for?

      I love the idea of an 06 girls trip to California! Count me in!

Leave a Reply

