Keeping Fit With Some Easy, Travel Workouts

“If I pack them, then I have to use them.”

You know what I’m talking about before I even tell you. Oh! The challenge of working out on the road. Every trip, I have the best of intentions. I tell myself if I’m using precious carry-on space for running shoes and work-out clothes, then I must use them! Come Friday, if I am puling the shoes back out of the same spot in my suitcase, socks still neatly tucked inside, untouched then I can’t help but feel a wave of guilt sweep over me. Exercising is difficult when traveling for work!

Alas, IMG_1606a week on the road in my industry often means a week with “the boys”. Not always, but often, and while there are many who strive to exercise, it’s usually inevitable after a long day of meetings, dinner and socializing, I don’t feel much like hitting the gym.

As I’ve gotten older, it’s gotten easier though. I learned to cut the night short earlier and take advantage of time zone differences to get up earlier. My shoes have managed to get out of my suitcase at least once a trip to take advantage of the hotel gym.

I have a couple workouts I stick too when I’m traveling. At home, I attend a regular boot camp class (the spring inch loss challenge starts next week) and the instructor shares “travel workouts” with us from time to time. My favourite of these requires free weights and is 25 reps of 25 different exercises with 25 seconds of cardio in between. It’s a solid 45 minutes and works my whole body. If I’m pressed for time, I’ll cut back some of the moves or eliminate the cardio and try to get it in another day.

If the hotel doesn’t have weights, then I usually try to head outside. Thirty minutes on a machine is thirty minutes of my life I’ll never have back, so I’d rather spend that jogging (or walking) outside seeing something. Especially when I’m downtown, I love going out in the morning to see the city wake up.

This is less intriguing when you’re staying next to an airport or an industrial park. That being said, I have done an accelerator workout in the Orlando Airport Marriott parking lot on more than one occasion. A tabatas workout is also great when you don’t have equipment. Pick a couple exercises, like football run, jumping rope (pretending is fine), squat jumps, or burpees. Then using a timing (you can download a tabatas timer to make it even easier) go as hard as you can for 20 seconds, followed by 10 seconds of rest. Repeat seven more times for a total of 8 rounds, or 4 minutes of intense cardio.

How do you stay in fit while traveling? Any work-outs or exercise routines you swear by?

Leave a Reply

